您有问题吗?

浏览下列经常问到的问题,看看有没有答案。

谁适合使用“学生SIMS"的服务 ?

各种签证类型的人,包括J-1/2, F-1/2, M-1, HB以及来美国工作/学习的旅行者都适合。

我拿到SIM卡以后就马上开通了,因为我第2天就要来美国了。但是开通以后这卡不工作。请帮忙解决。

一旦您到达美国本土就可以开始使用这个服务了。电话服务开通以后只有您到达美国本土才会工作。

我刚到达美国,收到的这卡不工作。请帮忙解决。

如果您到达美国后打开手机显示“请插入SIM卡” 或 “未注册的SIM卡” 或“不能识别的SIM卡”,这种情况下很有可能是您的手机SIM卡被锁住了。您可以到最近的手机店去看看他们能否帮您解锁。买一个预付款的手机,或者是在eBay或亚马逊网购一个没有上锁的手机,否则我们给您全额退款--给我们发邮件就行。

我可以打电话但是不能接收邮件或上网。

如果您能打电话发短信,但是不能上网接收数据的话,那就检查您手机的APN设置。APN的设置应该在fast.t-mobile.com (不要忘记T-Mobile之间的“-”)。

我给国内的朋友打通话,但系统不允许。这是怎么回事?

如果您已经购买了无限国际通话服务,但却收到一个错误信息,有可能是您的拨号顺序错误。在美国打国际电话要先拨+44,+353,+61,+82,或+33等(不论国家代码是多少),然后不要拨号码前的0。这样问题就可以解决了。但是如果您这样做了却仍然认为还不行的话,那您就给我们发邮件,我们将进行调查。

我需要用另一个卡付款,该怎么办?

如果您是按月付款并想用另一个信用卡/银行卡更新您的付款信息,请点击下面的链接注册一个新账户。这需要激活您订单的电子邮件地址以及您的电话号码,格式是:XXX-XXX-XXX。 然后您就可以用这个链接登陆您的账户并选择更新付款的选项。

目前,您可以仅注册一个与一个订单相连的账户。如果您想为另一个订单更新您的付款信息,那就请用这个链接。

我已经付了3个月的服务,现在我需要再延期1个月,该怎么办?

如果您已经付了全款,或只1个月,但想延期您的服务。您需要用您的21位数字的SIM卡在到期日期前或当天再下一个订单并开通(我们就会知道把您的号码与新订单匹配)。

我认为已经用完了4G数据流量,能否把流量限额扩大?

如果您想增加您的4G LTE 流量就给我们发邮件。同时请记住您可以使用任何一个批准的 apps号码来使用声音流量而不会占用您的4G限额。有关这方面的信息请访问这个链接。

我的手机丢了,请帮忙!

如果您丢了手机(2%的概率是您把手机丢在了出租车上),就要马上给我们发邮件,我们会马上中止服务。我们还会中止手机的IMEI,这样它就不能用了,至少是在北美这里的运营商。在同一个邮件中请告诉我们您的地址,以便给您寄一个替代的SIM卡。如果您买了新手机(在eBay上买比较好,因为这里没有销售税),一定要告诉我们,我们会根据要求中止这个号码。

我所在的地方得不到信号,我想退款。

如果几天后信号仍不好或由于任何原因您不满意,就给我们发邮件要求全额退款。

什么是管理计划回收费?

这是一个由T-移动收取的管理收费计划,用以回收他们的费用,还包括其它服务商收取T-移动的网络费用和第3方收取的特定网络设施和服务费。这个费用从来都不是按比例收取的,而是适用于收费周期中的每一条在用的线路。无限的4G计划已经包括了有关费用。

我给T-移动打电话,他们说不知道我是谁 !

"您的服务不是和T-移动签订的。虽然网络供应商是T-移动,但是您的电话号码和服务实际 上是从“学生SIMS""这里租赁的。这也是为什么服务费用打折力度这么大的原因。如果您有任何的问题、关切、服务升级/降级、或日期变化(延期或提前离开),请给我们发邮件。"

我需要提前回国,可以取消服务吗?

studentSIMS的用户可以在任何时候、出于任何原因自由地取消其订单而无罚款,但是月中取消服务的不能按比例分摊费用。如果要取消服务,就给我们发邮件:support@studentsims.com。

我在英国的T-移动商店买了一个新的SIM卡,它能工作吗?

不能,如果不是美国的SIM卡,不管是什么品牌都不能和studentSIMS计划匹配。

如果我是按月付款,是不是每个月都要上网付费?

不用。付款系统将会按月自动从您的卡上收费。如果出于某种原因不能从您注册的卡上收费,我们就会通知您并发给您一个链接,这样您就可以注册另外一个卡缴费。

我今天就要飞往美国了,我的新电话号码在哪里?

今天晚些时候您就会收到一个邮件,确认您的美国新号码已经开通。这也是我们建议您出发前1-2天开通您的新号码的原因,以便您及时告知有关人员。

我原以为我的电话没有锁住,但实际是锁了,我该怎么办?

如果您已经人在美国了,您就会发现用国外的网络解锁您的手机复杂而昂贵。所以我们强烈建议您来美国以前要确保您的手机没有锁住。网上有解锁服务,您可以试一下。但以我们的经验,您最好是买一部新的或二手手机。

我怎么确定我的手机是锁住了还是没有锁住?

最简便的方法是从朋友那里借一张使用其它网络的SIM卡。如果这张卡在您的手机上也工作,那么您的手机就没有锁住。

我能否先试一下$25的计划,然后再升级? 该怎么办?

如果您所来自的国家就包括在那30多个可以通话的国家中,那么您就可以给我们发邮件到support@studentsims.com,要求升级。

如果有人从英国给我打电话,我需要付费吗?

不需要。给您打电话的人要付长途费。您不需要付费。

每月2GB的数据流量对于普通的网上浏览足够了吧?

这取决于您对“普通”的定义。但是我们可以给您一些例子。根据不同的情况,像信号的强弱、手机的内存等等,结果可能大不相同。但是2GB的数据可以供您80-90小时的网页浏览,而没有声音或视频流量。或者是20集的一个各30分钟的电视节目。或者是通过Skype视频聊天9小时。

我在纽约,为什么您给了我一个拉斯维加斯的号码?

"以前区号很重要。但是现在不重要了。人们带着他们的老手机号码到处走。所以为了寻找降低收费的方法---并使studentSIMS的打包服务意想不到地便宜,我们在美国选择了这个 国家最低的基本费率号码。其中之一是内华达。实际上这对于用户来说没有任何影响。"

我要到加拿大或墨西哥去,我的J1卡的服务在那里能工作吗?

J1服务在美国以外不能使用,它不允许国际漫游。

Tab 2

Tab 3

Tab 4

You’ve got questions?

Browse through these FAQs to find answers to commonly raised questions.

Who is eligible for the studentSIMS service?

All Visa types including J-1/2, F-1/2, M-1, HB and all US-inbound work/study travelers are eligible.

I got my SIM card and immediately activated because I leave for the US tomorrow. It doesn’t work! Help!

You will be able to start using service as soon as you arrive in the United States. The phone service, while active, will NOT work until you first arrive in the United States.

I’ve just arrived and the SIM you sent me doesn’t work. Help!

If when you get to the US and turn on your phone the LCD displays something like 'Insert a SIM' or 'Unregistered SIM' or 'SIM not recognized' your phone is most likely SIM locked. At this point you can go into the nearest cell phone shop and see if they can unlock, buy a prepaid phone, but an unlocked phone on eBay or Amazon or we can issue a full refund - just email.

I can call but I can’t get email or internet access.

If you can call and text but cannot access data: Check the APN setting in your phone. The APN setting should be set to fast.t-mobile.com (and don't forget the '-' in T-Mobile).

I’m trying to call a friend back home but the system won’t let me. What gives?

If you paid for the unlimited International calling but receive an error message, it's probably your dialing sequence. When in the USA and making an international call dial +44, +353, +61, +82, or +33 (whatever your country code is) and then omit the leading 0 (zero) of the number. That should fix it. If after trying this you think the service was not provisioned properly - email and we'll investigate.

I need to pay with a different card. How do I do that?

If you are paying monthly and want to update your payment profile with a different credit/debit card, please register for an account by clicking on this link. You will need the email address you activated your order with as well as your phone number in this format: xxx-xxx-xxxx. You may then log in to your account using this link and choose the update payment option.

You can currently only register an account that is associated with one order. If you would like to update your payment information for an additional order, please use this link.

I paid for 3 months of service but now I need to extend for a month. How do I do that?

If you paid in full or for only 1-month but want to extend service you will need to place another activation order here with your same 21-digit SIM number (we'll know to move your number to the new order) on or before the scheduled deactivation date.

I think I’ve run out of 4G. Can I get a bigger allowance?

If you want to increase your 4G LTE allowance, email us. Meanwhile remember you can avoid using up your 4G allowance on audio streaming by using any of a number of approved apps. For more information on this, go to following link.

I’ve lost my phone! Help!

If you lose your phone (and 2% of you will lose your phone, most likely in a taxi) email and we will suspend the service. We can also block the IMEI of the device so it cannot be used, at least with a carrier in North America. In the same email provide an address where we can send your replacement SIM. When you purchase a new phone (eBay is a good source and there is no sales tax) let us know and we will suspend the number upon request.

I can’t get a signal where I’m located. I want my money back.

If after a few days the coverage does not seem great or optimal or you're unhappy for any reason just email for a full refund.

What is the Regulatory Programs Recovery Fee?

This is a regulatory programs recovery fee collected by T-Mobile to recover their compliance costs as well as charges imposed on T-Mobile by other carriers for delivery of calls between networks and by 3rd parties for certain network facilities and services. This fee is never pro-rated and is applied to every line of service that has been active for any portion of the billing cycle. The Unlimited 4G plan is fee inclusive.

I called T-Mobile and they said they didn’t know who I was!

Your service is NOT with T-Mobile. While the network provider is T-Mobile, your phone number and service are actually being rented from studentSIMS. This is why the service is discounted so significantly. If you have any questions, concerns, service upgrades/downgrades or date changes (extensions or early departures), please email.

I need to return home early. Can I cancel?

J1SIM users are free to cancel their subscription at any time, for any reason, with no penalty charges however mid-month service cancellations are not prorated. To cancel just email: support@j1simcards.com

I bought a new SIM from a T-Mobile shop in the UK. Will it work?

No. Non-US SIM cards, regardless of brand, are not compatible with the J1SIM program.

When I pay monthly, do I have to go back online every month to pay again?

No. The payment system will charge your card automatically every month. If, for some reason, a payment can’t be collected from the card you’ve registered, we’ll notify you and send you a link so you can register a different card.

I'm supposed to fly to the US today. Where's my new number?

You should get an email confirming activation and containing your new US number later today. But this is why we recommend you set your activation date 1-2 days prior to departure, so that you have time to circulate your new number.

I thought my phone was unlocked, but it's not. What should I do?

If you are already in the US, you may find it complicated and expensive to get a foreign network to unlock your phone. This is why we urge you to make sure your phone is unlocked before you travel. There are unlocking services online, which you can try. But in our experience, your best option is to buy a new or used phone.

How do I find out if my phone is locked or not?

The easiest way is to borrow a SIM card from a friend using another network. If it works on your phone, you’ll know it’s unlocked.

Can I try the $25 plan and then upgrade? How?

Assuming your home country is among the over 30 countries to which calls are included, simply email us at support@j1simcards.com with your request to upgrade.

Does it cost me anything if someone calls me from the UK?

No. Your caller will pay usual long-distance rates. You pay nothing.

Will 2 Gb of data a month be enough for just ordinary web browsing?

That depends on your definition of “ordinary.” But we can give you some examples. Results will vary based on all sorts of things, like signal strength, phone memory, and more. But 2 Gb of data will normally provide you with 80-90 hours of web surfing, without audio or video streaming. Or 20 episodes of a 30-minute TV program. Or 9 hours of video chatting on Skype.

I'm in New York. How come you've given me a number for Las Vegas?

Area codes used to matter. But they don't any more. People move, taking their old cellphone numbers with them. So in searching for ways to minimize charges -- and make the J1SIM package as incredibly inexpensive as it is -- we selected numbers from states with the lowest base rates in the country. One of these is Nevada. There is virtually no impact on the user from this.

I am going to visit Canada or Mexico, will my J1 service work there?

J1 service will not work outside the United States. The service does not allow international roaming.

Porting with J1SIM?


Port-in

Here is the procedure when porting over a phone number from another account or service provider: If you are not already with T-Mobile you will need a new SIM which you can order here at no charge: https://www.studentsims.com/order. When the SIM arrives place an activation order here: https://www.studentsims.com/activate

We will then need the following information from you which you can email to support@studentsims.com.

  1. Your Activation Order number from J1SIM (or affiliate)
  2. Your Account number with current provider (not necessary if your with T-Mobile then we just perform a COR – Change of Responsibility).
  3. Your phone number to Port
  4. 4-Digit PIN (you get this from customer service of your current provider)

Contact your current provider and let them know you are porting number to another account and they will release the number (With T-Mobile this will be a Change of Responsibility). Otherwise once you receive the SIM the entire process will usually be completed within 1 business days and then you will receive a SMS/text msg letting you know the transfer is complete.


Port-out

The phone numbers are being provided on a service lease basis and are the property of J1SIM, a private company and we are not able to Port-Out. However, while customers may NOT Port-Out a line directly from J1SIM, so long as the lease account is in good standing, is not used for malfeasance or negligent purposes and J1SIM is able, a Customer may initiate a COR (Change of Responsibility) with J1SIM to T-Mobile under the following circumstances –

  • The customer originally owned the line and ported in
  • The customer has paid for 12-months continuous service
  • The customer has had service less then 12 months and has agreed to purchase the line from J1SIM for $100

To complete a COR a customer must have either established a postpaid or prepaid account with T-Mobile and then provide the following information to J1SIM or its affiliates -

  1. Account number
  2. Temporary Account pin/ password

This process can be completed within 1 business day but can take 3 business days, from the time we receive the Account number and temporary PIN. For T-Mobile a customer may then initiate ‘port out’ procedures.

Tab 2

Tab 3

Tab 4